Premier LeagueSportTransfer News

Michael Owen names his all-time Premier League XI as Man Utd stars dominate

Michael Owen has named his all-time Premier League XI – and it is dominated by ex- Manchester United players.

The Red Devils have won the division a record 13 times since its introduction back in 1992 – with Manchester City second on six and Chelsea third with five

Liverpool, Leicester, Arsenal and Blackburn are the other winners of the Premier League, which got underway 30 years ago last week.

Owen is still the 10th highest scoring player in the division, having netted 150 goals in 326 matches, and he has analysed his best team from the Premier League era.

In an interview with Premier League Productions, via GiveMeSport, Owen, alongside former Arsenal striker Ian Wright, deliberated his side.

Goalkeeper: Peter Schmeichel

A commanding ‘keeper, Schmeichel was one of the first names on Sir Alex Ferguson’s teamsheet as he helped United to all those titles in the late 1990s.

Owen on Schmeichel: “Peter Schmeichel for me. He backs it up with trophies. He was involved in the greatest team of that generation.

He had presence, size, he was commanding. He drove that team forward. I think he’s a standout.”

Defenders: Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand, John Terry, Ashley Cole

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button